Another Beautiful Day

The Schnauzer and I flagged and rough cut about 1600 feet today to get to point 2030. The forest opened up nicely making the going easy. The only two negatives were a possible tortoise hole at point 2019 and a small erosion area at 2024. The tortoise hole looked new (if that’s what it is) so it could have been overlooked when they checked initially. It is right underneath the flagging for the point so I don’t know how they could have missed it. It won’t be hard to move the trail though. The other negative is an area of erosion maybe 100 feet long and the trail got rerouted right through it. I’m hoping they’ll let it slide or at least let me put a skinny over it. The Schnauzer and I put in 4 hours.

I only made it up once this weekend as we went to a bond fire/picking session at a friend’s house not far from the trail on Friday night. I think I was the best player there but that’s not saying much. It was fun playing those easy songs around a roaring fire. We made it home after midnight. The two teenaged children of our friend rode their bikes up to the trail and did a lap. And Justin’s girlfriend Lindsey has jogged on it a little. Another friend said he ran into a couple from North Carolina riding the trail.  It would be a nice thing to stumble upon but I hope they didn’t make that the goal of the trip. 

Saturday we had brunch at another friend’s house. To me, brunch is breakfast except it comes with alcohol and desert. It was worth skipping trailwork for. There may be the possibility of learning to surf and smoking some meat. Mmmm.

Published in: on January 13, 2008 at 2:59 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://redrockmtb.wordpress.com/2008/01/13/another-beautiful-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment